GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Difference between D and S Modes.

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-09, 03:01 PM
Rider
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Difference between D and S Modes.

IS there a difference if I launch my car from a stop in D mode or in S Mode?? Are the rpms higher when in s-mode?? Also, IF from a stop I switch to S mode and move to gear 8 and launch, isnt that pretty much similar to D-mode?? I am a bit confused :P
Old 09-22-09, 03:18 PM
kyang91
Lexus Champion

I think while launching the car in the S mode the gear box will hold the gear for a bit longer so the ram area might be higher. But again, I am not an expert in those things. Someone else?
Old 09-22-09, 03:28 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

if you are flooring the car, D and S (assume you put it in 8) won't make any difference, both cases it will just shift at redline from 1st to 2nd, etc...

say from a stop you put it to S and then keep it at 2. you floor it, it will redline 1st, shift into 2nd automatically, and then redline. but it won't shift to 3rd, it will just keep on bouncing at 2nd gear limter until you slow down or put it into 3. if put it to 3, then the car will shift into 3rd gear, and then continue to go up in rpm until redline (again, bounce on it).

but if now you slow down and come to a stop again, it will still say 3, but your car is actually back to 1st gear. if you now floor the car gain, it will go from 1st (redline) to 2nd (redline) and then to 3rd.

the number indicates the highest possible gear you can be in, but it doesn't mean the absolute gear you are in.

and in terms of rpm, S and D doesn't make difference, it just a way to set your gears. if you put the car in PWR mode, then it does change the shift point a bit. the car will tend to shift at a bit higher rpm than usual
Old 09-23-09, 01:10 AM
Rider
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by rominl