GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

GS400 Electrical Problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-19, 08:34 AM
PacificRJ
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GS400 Electrical Problems

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Lexus community (just bought this 1999 GS400 2 weeks ago) and I'm getting ready to do some maintenance on it. After it sitting in my garage overnight after some rainy weather, I've noticed a few electrical issues arise.

1. Putting the key in the ignition no longer illuminates the dash (starting the car it lights up fine) and the steering wheel no longer automatically comes out (or retracts when removing the key).
2. The key fob and the door lock switches no longer do anything (the doors no longer lock automatically).

The car starts up fine, goes into Drive fine, traction control + PWR/SNOW mode work fine and illuminate.

I'm going to be checking for any blown fuses because I suspect a short must have occurred due to moisture perhaps. Does anyone here have any experience with these issues and maybe have some clues as to where I should start?

Thanks everyone!
Old 05-01-19, 09:36 AM
kevin3344
Lexus Test Driver

Received 181 Likes on 162 Posts

Two separate issues but I'll try and tackle each one. The power tilt/telescopic motors are prone to fail on the 2GS so you'll either need to clean or replace them. Most of the time the former works with just some rubbing alcohol. The door lock actuators are also a weak spot and there are tons of threads about replacing them. As for the dash, there is a dimmer switch that controls the brightness try that and see if it works.
Old 05-01-19, 09:45 AM
PacificRJ
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by kevin3344