Looking for LS430 around $10K

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-09, 09:09 PM
anx90
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking for LS430 around $10K

Hi guys,

I'm new to this fantastic website and need help with my father's quest for a "new" car.

My father is about to get off of his lease on his Honda Accord and is in need of a car. He has always admired the 2001-2006 LS430's and has wanted to own one, however finances always seemed to get in the way.

I've made it a mission on my part to get him one after his lease is over. As of right now, I've found a couple on craigslist and other sites. Considering the fact that I'd like to stay as close to $10K as possible, I have found them to be 2001 LS's and between 100-150K miles. Normally, this would make me a bit uneasy buying a used car and all, but I know that Lexus/Toyota has unmatched reliability and build quality so I'm willing to take a chance.

If I were to go with something that old/used, would maintenance and overall reliability be a big issue? Would you guys suggest buying a certified one even if it will cost a lot more? Or would buying sometime of extended warranty through an outside party be advisable? W

Is there a particular model year I should avoid? Any big problems to look out for? The only problem I have heard of with Toyota products is the Sienna (1998-2000) transmission issues.

As a side note, I've gotta hand it to Lexus on having excellent resale value especially when the more expensive S500 can be had for about the same. Was also wondering, are there any auctions for Lexus vehicles, where I would be able to find a good deal?

I'm in the Anaheim, CA area and I have about 4 months to shop around but I want to know what to expect.

Thanks,
Gina
Old 12-12-09, 09:37 PM
liquid2
Pole Position

First off, It's admirable that you want to help your father.