LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Ls400 start up, Running rough help

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-13, 12:05 PM
LANcr3w
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation LS400 Wont Start need help

Im new to the lexus scene, I picked up a ls400 for $320 and it doesn't start.
I went through it checked the spark plugs, oil, timing and a few other things. It came down
to the point where I believed it just needed a starter cuz I just got one click without any other noise.
So I tore down all the way to under the intake removed the starter and got it tested.
They said it failed so I went to the junk yard and found a starter in a untouched ls400 think it
was a 97. I got that tested and it passed. So I installed the starter and the plugs were different fixed that problem.
Installed everything back to the point im ready to fire it up and I got nothing other than a single click with a little bit more starter noise assuming now that the starter works and now I have no idea what the problem is.

my only other idea is the connectors on the battery are bad or the battery itself

Any ideas or suggestions? id really like to get this thing started up.
Would appreciate the help, Thanks.

Last edited by LANcr3w; 01-13-13 at 12:20 PM.
Old 01-13-13, 12:47 PM
cobalt91
Lead Lap

Need that battery tested. What plugs were different?
Old 01-13-13, 02:01 PM
LScowboyLS
Lexus Champion

Received 81 Likes on 39 Posts

what is the year model of your LS400 and the mileage?

I would start with a brand new battery, it's not worth fighting a problem by trying to hold on to an old battery, they are only to be depended on for 4 years anyway.

I would also replace the + battery terminal end from the one from the dealership - mine had hidden corrosion inside that keep the car from starting - comes off with a wrench

I would clean the negative terminal and replace if it will not get clean and tight.