IS F (2008-2014) Discussion topics related to the IS F model

Mark Levinson... sounds strange?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-17, 01:39 PM
gc86
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Mark Levinson... sounds strange?

Hey CL, after selling my IS350 and moving to the dark side for a few years, I finally got my hands on an F over the weekend. Anyway, it's my first time hearing the ML system and to my dismay, it sounds strangely off.

Before I start to troubleshoot the possibility of a failed component, I wanted to run it by some of you who have lived with the system day to day. I've owned numerous cars with high end OEM sound packages and this is the first time I've heard a system sound like this. It's almost as if a majority of the sound output comes from the center speaker, like a home theater setup. The speakers in the front doors have zero presence. At first I thought they were broken but I adjusted the balance to the far left and right and there is a bit of sound output but a lot less than I would expect. My previous IS350 had the standard setup and it sounded vastly different.

Thoughts?

tl;dr - ML output sounds heavily centered, normal?

Last edited by gc86; 07-17-17 at 02:04 PM.
Old 07-17-17, 01:58 PM
mjeds
Lexus Champion

Received 188 Likes on 145 Posts

well in the RCF I had to turn off the "surround sound" feature to get rid of that annoyance.. it's a great feature if you are watching a movie in the car, not so much for music.
Old 07-17-17, 02:42 PM
tas02
Lexus Test Driver

Received 31 Likes on 29 Posts

there's a threads on this...
Old 07-17-17, 03:32 PM
gc86
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by tas02
there's a threads on this...
Care to share the magical search words? because I couldn't find it. Or better yet, do me (and the people that look at this thread later) a solid and paste a link to the thread.
The following users liked this post:
ph0ng (01-16-21)
Old 07-17-17, 04:37 PM
mjeds
Lexus Champion