IS - 3rd Gen (2014-present) Discussion about the 2014+ model IS models

Upshift/Downshift Question

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-13, 09:43 AM
CtSFox
Lead Lap

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Upshift/Downshift Question

Upshift/Downshift direction is sometimes different depending on car brand. So, fo the 3IS, if I am in fouth gear, which paddle shifter takes me to thid gear, the "+" or the "-"?

I ask because it is the opposite for BMW vs, Audi. I know, because i accidently took my wife's Audi to the red line trying to shift from third to fourth!
Old 10-19-13, 09:54 AM
Joe Z
Lexus Fanatic

Received 1,064 Likes on 586 Posts
Lightbulb

The MINUS "-" paddle...

Also, I only recommend using the paddles when in Manual Mode on the gate shifter...

I've been driving the IS line for over 13 years... So it's normal for me

~ Joe Z
Old 10-19-13, 10:28 AM
CtSFox
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by Joe Z
The MINUS "-" paddle...

Also, I only recommend using the paddles when in Manual Mode on the gate shifter...

I've been driving the IS line for over 13 years... So it's normal for me

~ Joe Z
Thanks Joe! Why do you recommend using the paddles only when in Manual Mode in the gate shifter?
Old 10-19-13, 11:53 AM
CtSFox
Lead Lap

Originally Posted by CtSFox
Thanks Joe! Why do you recommend using the paddles only when in Manual Mode in the gate shifter?
I did a little research on the GS forum. Someone there said that if you downshift using the paddle shifter while in automatic mode, the transmission will return to D after a few seconds. If you are in manual mode. the car will only upshift to protect the engine. Perhaps this is what Joe Z, meant.

Is this correct information?
Old 10-20-13, 07:53 AM
CtSFox
Lead Lap