Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the GS450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the GS450H. Please use the main 3GS forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation GS models.

Advice: Poor MPG?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-13, 09:46 AM
RVLTN123
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Advice: Poor MPG?

Hi! Lurker here. I've been enjoying my 2007 GS450h for the past 10 months or so. I bought it second hand with 36k miles and it's been a wonderful ride. However, I was expected better gas mileage. I pump with 91 octane (SoCal) and have been getting 19-21 MPG with mixed street/highway driving. Settings are normal and mileage is a little bit worse if I use Power/Sport mode. I am not an aggressive driver... pretty chill with an occasional spiritedness to overtake a slowpoke driving in a faster lane.

I'll be taking her in for a 40K service next week and figured it would be good to mention my MPG concern. Until then, any suggestions for troubleshooting?

Cheers and thanks in advance.
Old 08-19-13, 05:55 AM
L8Apex
Pole Position

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Yeah, thats too low. You should be getting upper 20's with an h.

monitor your hybrid system and set your info screen(the one behind the wheel) to display your MPG. Drive normal and see that the hybrid is assisting the propulsion of the car (see big screen). It should continually cycle bursts of power to the wheels, especially at highway speeds. Thus your using less gas to cover a greater distance. While this is happening see what your MPG is. I can do about 75 and get go between 30 -45MPG in sport mode.

You can also pay attention to how often your engine shuts off. My engine never starts when I start the car and when I'm in reverse.
Old 08-19-13, 06:20 AM
bigblack06

Received 326 Likes on 223 Posts

Originally Posted by RVLTN123