SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Battery Problems - Again

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-12, 03:58 AM
ser67
Rookie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Battery Problems - Again

For those with a good memory, my SC430 had some ML amp problems last year that caused a number of issues that meant I found out to change the car battery (!) and also install a new ML amp.

So I like to think I'm an expert on the SC's electrical systems.

Anyway, enough with the background - I had to rush out this morning, and car wouldn't start - no power at all.

Whipped out battery and put on charger - checked voltage after 1 hour, and it read about 12.4 volts but ticking down rather than remaining static.

So I reasoned that the battery had somehow discharged overnight.

This came with no warning, and perfect starts every time, ML and audio behave perfectly (put in new/recond ML amp from ML).

I must have a drain somewhere that suddenly appeared overnight, and I've checked all the obvious things - lights (boot/trunk, interior etc..) and they all okay.

The only two things I did differently last night was leave the headlamps on 'Auto' and I didn't lock the car doors, so may not have shut door fully so could have been interior left on overnight.

My question is - would leaving the car unlocked (with all doors shut fully) cause an overnight current drain ?

And is leaving the headlamps on 'Auto' likely to drain the battery (had visions of lights being on during the night - but never checked) ???

Have put old battery in - and started fine first time - so not an ignition related issue.

110k service due soon, perhaps it knows ?

Thanks
Old 03-13-12, 05:16 AM
Poqman
Lead Lap

Received 23 Likes on 12 Posts

I leave mine in the garage unlocked with the headlights left in auto and never had a problem. I'd check the amperage drain while the car is totally turned off and see what the drain is.
Old 03-13-12, 06:03 AM
VVTiBob

Received 265 Likes on 201 Posts

I have a couple of questions and a thought.