SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Maybe you've seen this before? sc300 question.

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-12, 12:26 PM
codysuds
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Maybe you've seen this before? sc300 question.

So I've finally found a great sc300 locally that I'm interested in buying. It's a 97 model, paint is good, interior is great, engine looks immaculate - yet of course, as usual something is off. When I test drove it this morning it ran as smooth as could be, and then a small miss gradually reared its ugly face the more I drove. I immediately parked it and plugged my personal scan tool up to it and got a 'P0306' code. Which of course is just 'Misfire on cylinder 6'.

Now I personally believe this is just a matter of the car needing a tune up, and worst case scenario it may potentially need a new cat. So my question is, since I'm new to the Lexus scene, has anyone seen a problem like this? Is this fairly common among SC's? Is there anything I should be aware of before I sink my money into purchasing this, and then even more money on getting it tuned up?

Any and all feedback is welcome and appreciated!

[Car is a 97 Sc300 with 140k, never been wrecked.]
Old 01-28-12, 01:10 PM
codysuds
Driver School Candidate

Or even if someone could point me towards a sc300 used buyers guide, I've been looking but I can't seem to find anything.
Old 01-28-12, 02:05 PM
boostin4
Driver School Candidate

Did the engine look detailed? Could have got water in the plug wells. Happened to me. Check the cap and rotor too.
Old 01-28-12, 02:19 PM
codysuds
Driver School Candidate

Yeah the engine looked like it had just come off the assembly line, so that's a good assumption. I'll definitely do that.
Old 01-28-12, 02:23 PM
AlphaMotor
Lead Lap

Is this a private sale or a dealership? Since you have a scan tool, i'm assuming you know how to work on vehicles.