SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Shifting Problem..

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-02, 02:41 PM
LEx-Lvel
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting Problem..

SO..I am a beginner learning how to drive stick on a stock 92 SC 5spd. My question is how do you know when is the right time to shift gears smoothly without that little kick u get when you don't shift right?
I know the manual indicated something as follow:
1st. 5-15
2nd. 15-25
3rd. 25-40
4th. 40-55
5th.55-Up

I kept getting that little extra kick when I shift. Especially to 2nd, and what is that clicking feeling you get when you drop it. I tried both dropping to second on high rpm and low. It felt better in low rpm, but I kinda figure that.

I thought it was a worn clutch at first, but I recently had my clutch replaced and the whole car felt different now. It feels faster, but the shifting problem still coming up

Thanks,

Old 04-15-02, 02:48 PM
Legends6spd
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

even till now i still have problems shifting from 1st -> 2nd;
especialy when its cold.

the big is, i feel 2nd gear is NOTCHY at ALL times. is it just me?
i mean, i can make 1st to 2nd gear smooth by stayin on the clutch longer but that just makes more wear.
and the shifter being notchy is kinda annoying. i expected more from a lexus.
Old 04-15-02, 05:17 PM
hwallen172
Driver

Legend6spd: