RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Very Slow take off?

Old 11-30-12, 08:37 AM
rayaans
Lexus Test Driver

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Very Slow take off?

Hi guys, picked up my RX450h F Sport last night. Being new to hybrids, is it normal that the car is very slow when taking off from a standstill? I have had a few problems with this because my previous RX300 just used to go. I constantly find that at junctions, I need more distance as the RX450h wont pick up enough speed before another car has got too close. Is this normal?

The car is in ECO mode at the moment as the dealer put it into it as he was giving me a run through of the features. I havent fiddled with the settings yet as im no tech expert so will probably do so after reading the owners manual .
Old 11-30-12, 09:05 AM
Woodrow
Lead Lap

Received 51 Likes on 36 Posts

Throttle responsiveness is where I notice the most difference between the settings. The normal mode is acceptable to me, and the sport mode makes the throttle response even better. One of my wife's favorite benefits of our 450h has been the improved acceleration over our previous 350! From what I have read in this forum, most people move away from Eco mode pretty quickly, with minimal impact to mileage. We did, mostly for the same reason you have identified. The benefit (increased mileage) of Eco mode simply isn't enough to offset the reduced throttle response for day to day driving.

Honestly, this will be a minor issue for you in the near future, as you get into "daily driver" mode. As a new car owner, you're more alert to little things you won't even notice in a month or 2.
Old 11-30-12, 09:31 AM
rayaans
Lexus Test Driver

Ok, i see. Ill change the mode tonight and see if sport or normal is better suited to me. Thanks for the quick reply Woodrow! Nice to see that we have the same colour car!!!
Old 11-30-12, 09:37 AM
Cruiter

Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts