RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Problems arise - shaky idle, misfiring, missing as it accelerates

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-17, 05:36 AM
1stgenlex3
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problems arise - shaky idle, misfiring, missing as it accelerates

Hi all. I'm new to site and female (car lover but knowledge under hood is marginal so bear with me).

Little background info : I'm only owner of my 1999 rx. Had side swipe on front passenger side in 2004, only 1800 in cosmetic damage. In 2011 at around 157k miles, engine had to be replaced. Due to what? Don't know. My dad took care of issue bc I was traveling for work a lot. Second engine was used, 55k on it. Car mileage now is a little over 69k. It's mileage is low bc I had job from 2013 to 16 that provided company car, so the Lexus was just driven to grocery etc.-you know, places close by, just to keep it from sitting, not driven.

So here is my situation... In Sept of this year, a teen in his 3series BMW decided to pull into a parking lot from the passing lane, basically coming to a halt on a 6 lane highway on one of the main arteries going into city limits. There is a small hill that you go over about 40 yards back from where he was stopping and crossing over right lane into lot. I come over hill doing 60 and slam on brakes so hard o I thought they would go thru floorboard. My car had zero cosmetic damage and when I popped hood, nothing there either. His car bumper, driver back, was detached, but that was all. Geezzzz it sounded terrible though!!! I just knew the front was crushed, but wasn't. I kept thinking, with that sound and as hard as I braked, something has to be wrong. But for days nothing changed. Drove the same.