Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Noob here with probable noob question.

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-09, 04:53 AM
ghettoSi
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Noob here with probable noob question.

Alright guys take it easy on me, I have what are probably some very basic questions. I have searched, but the results have only left me more confused. I am looking at picking up an early model SC300 with preferably a manual transmission. This is where my questions begin. Although I am aware that the stock motors can handle quite a bit of power (I have a friend who's car makes around 500whp), I am interested in swapping the 2jzgte into mine.
I am not interested in making a huge number really, I would just like the all around reliability that would come with the factory twin turbo set up. I would like to know what all would be needed to complete this swap. I have been looking at purchasing a complete motor with harness, ecu, tubos, etc. off either ebay or from another supplier.
My second set of questions then has to do with the transmission. The swaps I have been looking at have all been automatic swaps out of Aristos. Although I am aware of the advantages of the R154, and especially the 6 speed transmissions, would the W58 bolt up with any major issues to the 2jzgte? Would it have any problems putting up with the power from a relatively stock gte swap?
Sorry for the long read guys but I'm hoping that this is a place I can get some answers. Thanks in advance!

Last edited by ghettoSi; 12-16-09 at 04:57 AM.
Old 12-16-09, 08:40 AM
Shadowen
Lead Lap

I've been on the same journey. Here's what I've picked up.

Your questions:
What all would be needed to complete this swap?
As far as I know, you will need the engine(with turobo's) a downpipe for the Gte, Wiring harness (Spliced by Dr Tweak, or DIY) and the ECU. Also, you will need the piping and intercooler.