LS - 4th Gen (2007-2017) Discussion topics related to the current flagship models LS460, LS460L and LS600H

Braking Issues with my LS 460

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-07, 09:00 AM
CGexM5
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Braking Issues with my LS 460

Hi All,
I'm a newbie and have had my LS since 12/9/06. I now have about 2100 miles and have enjoyed the car tremendously with one glaring exception. I have noticed that with moderate to hard braking (not panic stops), braking pressure varies with pedal pressure remaining the same. It's as though I am applying varying pedal pressure when I am not. It's quite unnerving and results in, I believe, quite long braking distances. I am aware of Road and Track's braking distance from 60 to 0 number being quite high at 140 ft. and wonder if that is part of the reason. Is this normal and if so, why in the world would Lexus have a braking system like this?
Thanks for any thoughts on this.
CGexM5
Old 02-08-07, 09:32 AM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

umm, have you gone to the dealer and have them check the brakes? i wonder if you have air bubbles inside the system. to me that's the main reason why you feel different braking power with the same pressure on the brake pedal.

regard R&T, i thought that's due to the tires?

btw, welcome to CL!
Old 02-08-07, 09:43 AM
CGexM5
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the welcome and your input! I have not yet contacted my dealer about this but unless I hear otherwise from the Board members, I will assume that this is not normal and give them a call to bring it in for a check.
CGexM5
Old 02-08-07, 09:50 AM
widlfiresd
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by CGexM5
Hi All,