LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Intermittent no starts

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-18, 08:54 AM
Michael88
Driver

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Intermittent no starts

So as many of you know, I have been chasing down this issue for about 6 months. After having a great day of 100 miles and 7 starts without issue on Wednesday, I had a no start situation on Saturday. It was new brake pad day (which I found new challenges but that is another thread.) After completing the first axle's brake pads, I had a no start situation. The car was cold and 75 degrees outside, dry. Popped the hold and heard the all so familiar sound to me of "buzzing" from the throttle body with the key in the ignition and on, not started. I have learned to disconnect the battery and unplug the accelerator position sensor (APS). Wait a few minutes, plug in the APS, reconnect the battery. Turn the key on. let reset somethings inside the console and dash, starts right up, and idles at about 1400 in Park until it calibrates to about 900-1000 in park. On Sunday, I changed the negative battery terminal connector to a new brass connector. I pulled the drivers headlight out, and replaced two electric fan relays that were not working. The electric fan runs now. I have ordered a new throttle body gasket (which is more metal than gasket material), because the old one seemed damaged and there is a little bit of engine vibration (shudder). It is three sheets of metal with a rubber gasket in the middle. On one corner, my three pieces of sheet metal could be shuffled like a deck of cards. Not horribly detached, but enough for me to think I might a big vacuum leak. I am soaking screws that mount the APS with PnB Blaster because they are being difficult. I will mostly have to look into the "4 pin bad soldering" issue I have read about on the forums. I used to have a frequent hesitating gas pedal, that is now infrequent but the pedal still feels li