Build Threads Details on Club Lexus SC owner vehicles

97 SC300 - silentbob

Old 05-16-19, 08:36 AM
silentkill
Advanced

Received 224 Likes on 147 Posts
Arrow 97 SC300 - silentbob

Welcome, join me for watching a redneck build a import.

I have a lot of domestic experience and wanted to change it up, i had leaned towards LS swapping a lot but i decided that's no fun so i'm diving into something i know little about!

I just picked up a 97 GE block with GTE rods and pistons w/ ARP headstuds, zero idea what route i'm going but i am strongly considering using my non-vvti head from my 97.

Hurdles to get over: coil on plug situation, better clutch probably for the 58 (yeah yeah im gonna blow it up), what engine management to use?

I'm considering ecu masters black since it looks pretty feature packed, I feel confident i could wire it up but the coil situation confuses me.

My goals are 500-600whp, im looking at gtx 3076r quite a bit.

I think i want to stick to the GE head just to use all the front accessories i already have, and maintain my AC and all that.

The following users liked this post:
Matt L (05-13-20)
Old 05-16-19, 08:41 AM
silentkill
Advanced

Can you get away with just running the distributor until you convert it or is it just totally in the way of the turbo on a NA-T?
Old 05-17-19, 06:07 AM
RudysSC
Pole Position

Received 1,197 Likes on 830 Posts

^ As long as you buy a manifold that allows your piping to clear the distributor it will support your power goals just fine. Check out Gerrb's build thread using a Treadstone cast SS turbo manifold. It allows you to mount a large turbo down lower and leaves a lot more room for activities on NA-T cars. Loving the white - good luck with the build and keep taking good pics!
Old 05-17-19, 06:29 AM
silentkill
Advanced

So in theory could i do something like that and run a plug/play ECU and basically change zero wiring? just to get started anyway i do plan on doing COP eventually.