Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Bead Maker...! or ...?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-19, 06:59 PM
chinee
Racer

Received 938 Likes on 575 Posts
Default Bead Maker...! or ...?

I saw JDR76 and jdpdata chatting about BM in another thread and thought it was time for a BM thread.

1) I'm also new to BM (partly based on jdpdata's raves) and I too have mixed feelings. I applied Sonax Polymer Net Shield on my GS back in September and have topped it with Sonax Brilliant Shine Detailer every other wash since then. Sprayed the BM on top and wow! Slick, slick, slick! Nice shine as well. Can't stop touching the paint, so smooth...

2) So polished my Sequoia with Blackfire One Step and topped with BM... Wha? Where did the slickness go? Stopped halfway and did the rest of the truck with Meguiar's Ultimate Spray Wax, slicker and just as shiny. It rained a few days and I'll tell you, the Meg's beaded up better, and the truck was noticeably cleaner on the Meg's side. On AGO, someone surmised that BM does not always play well with all waxes, so that could be what I'm seeing (or not seeing) here.

On the GS, I've been using the BM as a Quick Detailer and it works well, but... after a handwash, I can tell you the BM is not as hydrophobic as the BSD. When the BM is done, I may not be replenishing my stock... but while I have it... oooooh, that slickness...
The following users liked this post:
jdpdata (05-28-19)
Old 05-28-19, 07:13 PM
jdpdata
Instructor

Received 444 Likes on 305 Posts