Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Need help deciding whether to go straight for a turbo or an engine swap

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-06, 09:32 AM
tjschnei
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help deciding whether to go straight for a turbo or an engine swap

I have a '97 SC300 and I am just beginning to get into performance modifications. I want to get into the turbo's and what not but I cannot decide whether to do an engine swap to a 2JZGTE then swap the turbo's or go for a full turbo kit. Any suggestions as to which will be a better performer and advice would be greatly appreciated. Also does anyone know of places that carry the Lexus 5-speed manual tranny because all the places I have contacted have said they do not have that manual transmission. Thanks guys.
Old 05-02-06, 02:02 PM
vipsoarer
Instructor

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

basically its your decision as to which route you want to go. both have pros and cons. both motors will last just about as long as the other with the same hp and tuned well. if the turbo kit is well put together (aka has fuel upgrade and atleast a head gasket to drop the cr) you will make more power. if you are going with a gte swap you will get an upgraded auto trans that can handle a good amount of power. but again you will have to decide. as for the 5 speed trans look in the classified section on this forum and supraforums.com . you should definately do some searching before you go either route and get yourself aquainted with how they are different.
Old 05-02-06, 11:46 PM
SCoupe
Lexus Test Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts