Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

Megan Weld Quality Concern

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-13, 08:52 AM
Sportskid1
Pole Position

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Megan Weld Quality Concern

I bought a set of Megan Front upper control arms and rear camber arms for my 2008 IS350 to help me achieve my perfect track day alignment (along with some BC coilovers). In getting my Megan stuff I am a little concerned with some of the quality of the welds. There are small gaps (~1/4inch) in the welds were you can clearly see 2 surfaces that are supposed to be welded together with an air gap between them. I am kind of concerned that these will not live up to the abuse of the track. Or I may just be a little **** about it as I am a mechanical engineer. Or I just got a bad set of arms. Has anyone had any issues with weld quality on their Megan stuff?
Attached Thumbnails Megan Weld Quality Concern-20130625_073700_resized.jpg  
Old 06-25-13, 08:58 AM
heyarms
Pole Position

Received 37 Likes on 17 Posts

I have megan rear camber, toe, and front UCA's and the welds look okay (no gaps). I also received a second set of UCA's on accident by a company and they looked good too. Maybe contact the vendor you got these through to exchange? I understand your concern, I'm an ME too.
Old 06-25-13, 11:31 AM
WylieKylie
Lead Lap

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts

Exchange them, or if that isn't possible go directly to Megan. The picture seems to show contamination between the two surfaces, if I were a manufacturer and something like that made it through QC I would want to know about it, and would not want that liabilty installed on a customer's car.
Old 06-25-13, 12:30 PM
Sportskid1
Pole Position