Suspension and Brakes Springs, shocks, coilovers, sways, braces, brakes, etc.

BBKs from other cars made to fit IS350?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-12, 06:11 AM
mikellucci
Instructor

Received 28 Likes on 15 Posts
Default BBKs from other cars made to fit IS350?

Admittedly, I'm not a brake expert....at all! All of my cars I bought BBKs that were mainly plug and play (and redick overpriced).

With the IS350, has anyone adapted BBKs from other vehicles with success? Mainly speaking about calipers. I have a nice set of Brembo f/r calipers from an Evo Viii that would look soooo good on this car (with fresh powdercoat). Can this properly be done using adaptors or similar or am I just dreaming?

Pic for illustration purposes only....This is NOT my pic, its from EvoM:
Old 08-17-12, 03:39 PM
Jeff Lange
Keeping it Real
Forum Moderator

Received 613 Likes on 406 Posts

I would look into the 2013 GS350 RWD F-Sport front brakes if I were you, or IS-F obviously.

Just a suggestion!

Jeff
Old 08-17-12, 05:19 PM
VIP LXS
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

There are alot of variables that come into play. You would have to see if there is enough contact with the oem rotor, that is if your planning to run the oem lexus rotoror an aftermarket rotor, custom bracket to mount the caliper, etc...

I have project Mu bbk's so it was a complete swap, dismount the caliper and rotor, install new rotor, mounting bracket for the bbk caliper, brake lines. The only mod I had to do was to trim the dust sheild due to the fact that the caliper and the rotor got in the way.
Old 08-22-12, 04:52 AM
mikellucci
Instructor

Thanks guys. I think I'll be a little bit more deteremined come winter and my car is parked for the season. I'll see what I can come up with and report back
Old 08-22-12, 10:39 AM
euroimage
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

with calipers that do not have the cast in brackets, such as porsche it is rather easy to make them work with a set of adapters.