SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

How do I wire an 12V Socket Duplicator to car electrical (instead of cig ltr)?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-13, 08:22 AM
1UZFE4ME
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How do I wire an 12V Socket Duplicator to car electrical (instead of cig ltr)?

Hello CL,
I got an Auto Socket Duplicator today for my Laser detector etc.. I hate the wire coming out of my ashtray and having to remove, hide it when I exit. I want to mount it and permanently wire it in.
I have no electrical experience so detail is appreciated.
It has the fuse built into the cig lighter end that I am going to cut off so I will need to add a fuse.
Can I use power from somewhere behind my radio or should I wire straight to the battery somehow like my amp is wired?

What is the proper way to do this?
Attached Thumbnails How do I wire an 12V Socket Duplicator to car electrical (instead of cig ltr)?-41js0vlsbdl._aa300_.jpg  

Last edited by 1UZFE4ME; 03-16-13 at 08:39 AM.
Old 03-16-13, 09:01 AM
Luxor
Pole Position

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts

Cut the end off of that plug, then tap into the 2 wires that power your original cigarette plug. Your original plug is already fused.
Old 03-16-13, 09:03 AM
1UZFE4ME
Driver School Candidate

Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Luxor
Cut the end off of that plug, then tap into the 2 wires that power your original cigarette plug. Your original plug is already fused.
WOW! That should be even easier then I thought!

I'd assume the side with the white stripe is positive on the device wire. Is the positive wire red on the car wiring?

Thank You!
Old 03-16-13, 09:29 AM
Luxor
Pole Position

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts

I forgot the colors of the factory wires. Best to find out for both is to see which wire goes to the "tip" of the plug. The tip of the cig plug is positive. The sides of the plug are negative.
Old 03-16-13, 09:36 AM
turbodremz
Lexus Champion

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts