SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Newbie saying "Hello!"

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-05, 03:30 PM
Suppatime
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie saying "Hello!"

Hey everybody, my name is Drew and I'm a 22 year old filmmaker and security guard from Orlando, FL. I'm unfortunately still in college, UCF specifically if any central Florida guys here are in the area. If everything goes according to plan, I'll be joining you SC300 / Soarer converted guys.

I currently own this heavily-modified 1996 Honda Accord coupe which I run in local autocross events:

While I love my car (one of the fully loaded higher-end models from that year), I'm really starting to get tired of FWD and a lack of horsepower. My mods were to effectively create an Accord "A-SPEC" model, so between suspension, braking, engine and moreover transmission mods, I set out to keep my stock motor but do everything possible to make it peppier. At 160HP and a final drive gear of 4.27, it's about as peppy as it can be.

As such, I was looking around for something else two door and fun to drive and a Nissan 240 didn't quite do it, not even with an SR20DET. I found one with an RB25DET (think old Skyline GT-R) motor in it, which was better, but then the luxury element wasn't quite there.

Then I stumbled on the SC300. Luxury, two doors, bigger engine and RWD. I was mildly impressed, until I found out 1) they did in fact come in 5-speed, and 2) the 2JZGTE motor drops in with a little work. I'm no stranger to swaps... my Prelude transmission conversion took 14 weeks with all the little parts I needed to locate.

So here I am! Learning as much as I can before I buy. My roommate's girlfriend's ex-boyfriend's mom has a mint-condition white / tan leather 5-speed SC300 she's looking to sell, and I'm hoping to pick it up early next year. I'll start with the good stuff... suspension and braking, then move up from there.