SC- 1st Gen (1992-2000)

Complete SC400 interior restoration

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-04, 05:23 PM
sorka
Lead Lap

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Complete SC400 interior restoration

What I thought would take a few weeks has taken a few months and a grand total of about 50 hours of time. As I'm a software engineer, this was not economical, but I became obsessed.

Before I get on with it, for those of you who've PMed me about the leatherseats.com install tricks and tips, I haven't forgotten, but I've been very busy and that write up will take some time. If the moderators don't move this thread to detailing, I'll go ahead and do it, otherwise I'm going to have to pass.

Our SC400 is a '95 black with 194K miles on it. I've taken very good care of it mechanically have taken lot of care with the exterior. From the outside it looks like a new car. I've done all the usual things like cleaning the plastic headlight lenses so they aren't yellow. The list goes on.

This *was* my wife's daily driver until we had our child. She practically lives out of her cars. Only a month would go by before it filled up with trash, coffee cups, papers, you name it. I can't tell you how many times she spilled coffee.

Here is a gallary of before shots:

Note, these are 3000x2000 photos in their original size. When you click on the gallary, you'll get something much smaller, but if you want to see the detail and horror of it all, view some of these in their full size.
http://alana.smugmug.com/Other/sc400.../263172_gDQ8zK

Notice all of the dirt, stains, scuffs, scratches, cracked leather, etc.

First I started off with a complete interior disassembly. I took everything out exept the dash.

I removed all seats front and rear, steering wheel, center console and surround pieces, door panels, various interior panels, and finally the carpet.

In all, here is the inventory of stuff I bought: