Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

SC300 - Will not run - Please Help

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-13, 02:46 PM
n2fastuff
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post SC300 - Will not run - Please Help

Hey guys... First off I have a 2000 SC300 automatic(120k mi).Yes it has goodies,but all in suspension (Kei Office C/O) and brakes( Hawk/EBC yellow),not my issue,ONLY engine type mod is cold air induction unit.
I was leving work, in the middle of accellerating uphill, 4500-4800rpm and the car simply shut off.After I pulled off of the road, it would turn over fine and it would want to hit/crank, but wouldn't. Towed it back to shop(I am a machinist at a perf shop)
After two days I tried to crank, but it would only spin over,not crank. So, I have checked the timing belt - not broken, marks seem to line up. Thought well it is not getting fuel or fire - back to basics. went ahead and replaced fuel pump with the new Aeromotive 340lph pump. Now I can def hear the pump when spinning the engine. It would then crank!! but only for 3-5 seconds without responding to throttle input - at all. Fire seemed weak when I pulled a plug(red,not blue)...so I replaced the Ignitor. No dice.... At this point I started looking for gremlins(wire probs), but never found anything. I have since replaced Cam Sensor, Crank Sensor, Throttle Position Sensor, Accelarator Pedal Position Sensor and Fuel Filter! Still doesn't want to crank. I know the Fuel Pump ECU is notorious on these cars, but I have around 7.5-8v at idle going to pump..and what seems to be plenty of fuel(can smell unburned fuel when it's not firing.) Can it cause the car to not RUN though?
Update...I have another ECU, same serial and code.swapped with my computer,again same issue.
W T F ???
btw - all of the components I swapped were from a spare,running fine 2jze VVTi, not new,except the fuel pump.