Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Bought a 1UZFE for my swap

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-07, 09:35 PM
sonoramike
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bought a 1UZFE for my swap

I bought a 1uzfe allegedly from a 96 SC400 with 44k miles. It came with mostly complete top to bottom, side to side - the computer and engine wiring harness are intact, catalytic's still installed on exhausts with sensors, and an A340E auto trans all bolted up with cables and trans harness. pictures to follow I'm sure. couldn't turn the deal down.

I'm really new to this motor, but love the way it runs in my 92 SC400 even with 198k miles - buttery smooth with gobs of torque. I was going to use a big block Buick 455 in my swap since I'm more familiar with old Detroit iron, and have done all the machine work on the BBB and just need to assemble it. But I like the Toyota motor so much that I decided that I'm changing horses midstream and am selling off the 455 to help fund the Toyota install once I get the 1UZ running. But I have a huge learning curve in front of me that I'm looking forward to. Long term I think this motor holds more "fun" potential and I'm sick of working on Rochester carbs -- all hail EFI.

So I'll begin at the beginning - I'd like to fire the motor up to confirm running condition but I need some help in getting going.

1) how do I ID the year - is there a badge somewhere on the motor that would have that info? I have the electronic service manual pages d/l'd from Toyota TIS but can find no reference in it for a serial # location.

2) I don't have any of the ignition circuit/harness (that I'm aware of), what sort of wiring config can I cobble together to get the thing started? I can get the starter motor wiring worked out, but the not sure how to spoof the ECU into starting the motor.