Maintenance Discuss common Lexus maintenance questions here.

costco gas

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-06, 01:22 PM
skiptomylo
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default costco gas

gas in my area is !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've noticed that Costco gas is about 10cents cheaper than everywhere else but I've never used it before. Has anybody had any experience using Costco Gas before? How does it compare to 76 or Chevron?
Old 04-11-06, 01:45 PM
Jewcano
No Sir, I Don't Like It

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

Costco gas is just like Sams gas, its just as good as everywhere else, only cheaper ....hope that helps. I usually fill up at Sams, but now everywhere gas prices have been jacked up for no reason its rediculous. almost 3.00 a gallon here again.....(premo of course)
Old 04-11-06, 01:58 PM
skiptomylo
Driver

I'm just asking because I've used quite a few different gases and I've noticed offbrands such as World, etc... to give me lower mileage and kind of rough driving/idling.

Arco gives me lower mpg

the best that I've used is 76 which runs smooth and also gives me the best mpg
Chevron gives me equally good smoothness as the 76 but a little lower mpg

There's no Sam's in my area so I wouldn't be able to judge. And I don't have a Costco card yet so I can't go test it yet. I was planning to get one and if Costco gas is pretty good, this will motivate me to get it faster! haha.
Old 04-11-06, 03:19 PM
T0ked
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I've noticed the roughness also. My understanding is that Costco, Sam's and other discount gas brands are pretty much regular gas but without the detergents and special additives the big names (exxon, mobil, chevron, etc) put in theirs. I've had to pour in some fuel injector cleaner evry now and then which negates the cost savings I otherwise got. I've gone back to Sunoco and Shell mostly and only use Costco gas every now and then.
Old 04-11-06, 07:02 PM
uncle_el
Pole Position