LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Lowering? Lowering Springs?? LS430 03'

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-12, 09:16 PM
Jrmitchell
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowering? Lowering Springs?? LS430 03'

Ok, incase you haven't read my last post, just informing you all, I'm very new to all of this. I heard something about lowering springs and other methods of lowering my car and I'm just curious. Acouple questions regarding lowering my car. If it helps I want to get 20'' Rims with low profile tires before or around the same time that i purchase anything to lower my car. I want my car low but not ridiculously low. Something noticeable but not insane something that just fills up the wheel well. ( not something that i have to worry about slamming )
  1. What is the best & cheapest method of lowering my car?
  2. What ever method I choose where would i get it installed?
  3. Do certain methods require extra care or maintenance?
Help is greatly appreciated!
Old 01-27-12, 03:33 PM
LsBanGer43
Lead Lap

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Welcome!!

I say find the wheels you want then do a test fit an see how much of a gap you have to work with, then you can decide on how much you want to lower your car. Simple lowering springs will be able to get you the drop you want just need to find the right brand that can achieve that for you.

I personally suggest coilovers just because of the adjustablity of the ride height, and a whole lot easier to install because it's one whole piece (shock and springs) vs. just buying the springs where they'll have to pull everything out disassemble the stock shock an spring and replace.( that will add up on hours just on dis-assembly and reassembly of the shock and spring. just a FYI, but it's your choice just giving you my 2 cents. hopefully this will help you out a bit.