LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Circa '04 Nav System Questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-07, 12:36 AM
DrummerK
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Circa '04 Nav System Questions

It's been just a little over a week since I bought an '04 Black Onyx LS 430, and I'm extremely pleased with its steady, quiet ride & handling, luxurious comfort & look, and of course, the plethora of great "gadgetry" that technologist/engineer types like me just love to play with!

As such, I'm also very new to Club Lexus, and after some perusing around in various forums as well as poring over the manuals, I haven't found threads that cover some questions I have, specifically in re the Nav System. But I'm very impressed with the willing and able Club Lexus experts! Can anyone please help, or at least point me (gently, please!) in the right direction on the following?:

1) I've used other GPS navigation systems before, and after setting a destination, I can't seem to find in the Lexus how to show Estimated Time of Arrival (ETA) and Time Remaining to Destination (TRD). Perish the thought that these features are not included!?!

2) In the Bluetooth Settings, there are no less than five (5) "types" of Hands-Free (HF) device choices, but I can't find help or documentation on how each is different from the others. The below pic is what I see on the screen. Does anyone have the "decoder ring" as to what each choice offers the end-user?

3) It's great to have the Automatic Sound Levelizer (ASL) under the audio DSP control, but I've found the difference in adjusted volume on the highway to be so subtle (if at all) that it's hard to tell if it's actually working or not. Other cars with similar ASL systems seem to have a more preceptible change in the volume under noisy or speedier conditions. Comments?

That's enough for now! More questions to come again, I'm sure! Thanks in advance to any and all!