LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1993 Lexus LS400 jerking problem

Old 08-20-13, 08:41 AM
LexusAl
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Smile 1993 Lexus LS400 jerking problem

Hi,I am new to the Lexus forum.I recently bought a 1993 Lexus LS400 Feb. 27 2013 in Buford,Ga.The salesman told me the car was running great.That was far from the truth.It had almost 155K miles on it,not bad for a '93 model.My brother went with me to pick it up.When we got to Byron,Ga. where my brother lives,the car had used about 2 quarts of oil and another quart to drive it home.
The following week,I took the car to a repair shop in Centerville,Ga. where the Mechanic inspected it.They found a worn out front seal,leaking valve cover gaskets,worn out plugs and wires,bad rack and pinion,bad IACV,bad throttle body,fumes leaking into the interior,leaking exhaust gaskets,bad EGR/02 sensor crossover pipe,bad ECU and needless to say,the car running rough and jerking.Well,it took me 6 months to get this LS to running decent.I have been through more than a bad situation with this car.It took over $3,800.00 in labor and parts to fix it.I had a new OEM EGR crossover pipe installed and a new OEM IACV valve put in by my brother.
All the other parts were used but in great shape from Ebay.A few weeks ago,the instrument cluster blacked out so I sent it to a repairman in Md. and now it's like new again at a cost of $153.00.This past Saturday,the car was still running a little rough so I tweaked the TPS just a hair and it made all the difference in the world.Now the car is running very smooth.I also adjusted the cruise control slightly and it's working smoothly.It also got a new Lexus timing belt and water pump.Last week,it got a new fuel filter,tranny filter and type 4 fluid.