LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

Lexus death bed?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-12, 03:47 PM
ccorogers
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lexus death bed?

96 LS400 ok guys, I pressure washed the front of the motor and im 100% sure it is the front main seal, I looked under it when i got home and put oil in it and left for work today, only a short drive to work and now its feeling like it is losing power and the trac light is flasing on and off and the check engine light is flashing on and off, but the oil lights are not on. would losing the pressure with the front main seal cause a loss of power? I would love to keep the car and also would love to get a Newish Lexus as well. Thanks guys.
Old 09-01-12, 04:09 PM
denverdog
Pole Position

i'm no expert, but it sounds far fetched to damage a front main with a power washer. I would think it much more likely that water got in to an electrical component or sensor. if the seal is leaking, there shouod be oil visible on the ground, or on the shield covering the bottom of the engine, if that is still in place. others will no doubt have more specificity as to what to check. the more symptoms you can give, like when it happens, and under what load conditions, would help. i think the moral of the story is going to be NEVER EVER POWER WASH AN ENGINE. how many miles on the engine?
Old 09-01-12, 04:22 PM
ccorogers
Driver School Candidate

no, I suspected the front main was leaking because it is leaking oil like a water faucet.so i cleaned it to get a better view. sorry

Last edited by ccorogers; 09-01-12 at 04:28 PM.
Old 09-01-12, 04:27 PM
ccorogers
Driver School Candidate