LS - 1st and 2nd Gen (1990-2000) Discussion topics related to the 1990 - 2000 Lexus LS400

1992 LS400 - Air Conditioner problem

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-09, 02:49 PM
somnoboy
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1992 LS400 - Air Conditioner problem

Hello everyone. I'm new to ClubLexus and am very impressed with the very professional expertise exhibited here.

Anyway, I have a 1992 LS 400 with about 92,000 miles. I am the original owner, and have kept the car garaged since birth. It is in mint condition.

Just about a year ago, the air conditioner stopped making cold air. System was converted to R-134 at a Lexus dealership. Since then, a/c worked fine up until yesterday (I think). Now, fan works fine, but with A/C switch on, no cold air is produced. The air being blown is whatever the ambient air is outside. I noticed that when idle in park, that turning the a/c on or off results in absolutely no change in engine rpm. In other words, it almost seems as if the a/c isn't engaging at all. The a/c light stays on steady when selected (no blinking).

I ran an a/c diagnostic code check, and the only codes that show up are 00 and 21 (I was idling in park in the shade, out of direct sunlight).

Any experts out there have any idea? I am very, very proud of my LS 400, and would greatly appreciate anyone's help.

Thanks in advance.
Old 10-05-09, 03:01 PM
AllblackLS
Driver School Candidate

A question, how much was the r134 conversion? My 90 LS stopped blowing cold air too.
Old 10-05-09, 03:49 PM
curepunx
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by AllblackLS
A question, how much was the r134 conversion? My 90 LS stopped blowing cold air too.
Does it only blow warm air?
You know you can get a can of r12 on ebay for about 65+ dollars shipped...

Refill it yourself and be done with it.
Old 10-05-09, 03:58 PM
tromly
Pole Position

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by curepunx
Does it only blow warm air?