IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

Lowering Help

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-15, 09:04 PM
cyphcm
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowering Help

I want to lower my IS250 AWD but I honestly don't know where to start wanna do it safely.
Old 10-30-15, 09:23 PM
PhanyPack
Driver School Candidate

Well I'm not an expert, but heres what I know.
1.You should first take your enviroment in consideration, because if you go to low in Texas, you might as well not drive. But idk how the roads are like in other states.
2.Consider how low you wanna go, depending on how low you go, you then should know what to get. Springs, Coilovers, or bags(Air suspension).
-Springs are a cheap method if you're looking for a small drop but not to agressive.
-Coilovers are nice because you can always change the height if you don't like the way it rides or look. Coilovers can get costy if you want a really good pair. But there are good pairs for a decent price.
-Air suspension is if you want it all. You can be slammed when you want and air your car up when you're driving. But there expensive as hell. About 2k for a decent one, maybe more
Old 11-01-15, 04:17 AM
Shervin350
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

houston is bad, i went with koni yellow kit and i really love the drop,
Old 11-01-15, 02:12 PM
tnoice
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I just installed the f-sport springs this weekend on my is350awd and it looks great. Nice mild drop.
Old 11-01-15, 06:18 PM
knguyenk
Lead Lap

I've lowered my IS 250 AWD with F Sport springs and shocks after a year and change of research. I decided this over coilovers is because of two things:

I'm more of a set-it-and-forget-it person, so the simplicity of a fixed drop and having springs and shocks that were tuned for each other worked for me.