IS - 2nd Gen (2006-2013) Discussion about the 2006+ model IS models

2007 IS250 with Evaporator Drain Grommet issue and sticky/melting dash

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-13, 10:08 AM
Birdman07
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2007 IS250 with Evaporator Drain Grommet issue and sticky/melting dash

I'm a newbie. I hope I'm posting in the right location. Original owner of a 2007 IS250.

My passenger floor carpet was dripping wet. Dealer said there is a TSB regarding an Evaporator Drain Grommet. They say it is out of warrantee, so it will cost me $1381 out the door to fix the drainage problem and the carpet. Dealer said it is not a widespread issue. Only 2 known occurrences. My internet search suggests that might not be true.

Also my dashboard has within the past 6 months gotten very sticky sections. The material seems to be breaking down. Dealer said he's never heard of it before. My brief search online suggests that that is not the first time for an IS. He said they can rip out the dash and put a new one in for $2850 for parts and labor.

Any insights? Does this all sound fair? It is tough to get a bill for many thousands of dollars for a vehicle that only has 34,000 miles of wear and tear on it.

Thanks,

B
Old 12-17-13, 12:23 PM
Gville350

Received 430 Likes on 384 Posts

First off, that dealership is full of it! If you can, never go back there if they cannot be honest about things.

About the dash, that does happen ALOT in HOT climates. You'll find MANY FL 2IS owners posting about their dash problems. Even mine here in SC has gotten softer, but not acutally melting...yet.