GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Intermittent ECU Issue in cold weather

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-18, 07:55 AM
peterz123
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Intermittent ECU Issue in cold weather

Hi all hope someone can steer me in the right direction. On some cold mornings 30 F or so,
I get what appears to be an ECU B fuse issue- No nav, all the dash warning lights etc, fairly common for the ECU from my readings
I've changed out the fuse several times, pulled the battery terminals to reset the ECU, have functional mirrors etc. Once the weather warms
up the problem goes away. Are there any relays other fuses or other electrical components which might be affected by the cold in this
system/loop. I can't get the car out of park to drive it until it warms up. Battery seems fine and cranks the car over easily, central locking also works.
Some cold days it's fine.. I'm a fairly experienced mechanic but I'm remote for work and have limited tools and no shop manual for this otherwise superbly reliable
truck.

thanks
Old 02-05-18, 05:58 AM
DiabloX22
Pole Position

Received 26 Likes on 22 Posts

Electricity ALWAYS takes the easiest path. When it's that cold metals, materials contract, so I would look at the main fuses to see if they are all getting power with a meter, if you dont have 1 get 1 only about 15 bucks. If they are I would check connections and grounds to the box. I usually pull up the diagrams before I answer to help explain things, but can't now. Any questions or anything just reply or msg me
Old 02-05-18, 02:45 PM
peterz123
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by DiabloX22