ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

Lessons Learned - Struts

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-18, 11:42 AM
ES300TX
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Lessons Learned - Struts

Due to time and equipment constraints, I wasn't able to replace my struts, however, I bought what I thought was everything necessary to outfit the car with a new ride.

At the advice of several contributors, bought KYB replacement cartridges, rubber stops and "isolation" mounts, and springs from Moog. All were purchased from Rock Auto. I did not buy the "top hat, strut mounts" as I thought the old ones would be okay.

After replacement, the car rode a bit firmer than a new one would but was in line with my expectations. I like a stiff set of leg muscles on a car. It inspires confidence when cornering or getting out of a tight spot. It also marginally aids in high speed stability. I am a quick driver when on long distance trips, so top notch suspension is a must.

It turns out that not putting on new strut mounts was a terrible mistake. I have to take it back and have new ones put on.

In retrospect, I would have simply have purchased all KYB quick struts instead of trying to save my old top mounts.

I hate the way that automakers design these damned things with bearings in them. This seems to be a relaitively new phenomenon. I helped change struts on a 90's japanese sports car and it didn't have fancy bearing plates on them. Less crap to break down.

The big lesson again is to buy the KYB or Moog quick struts and don't worry about the mileage you will get out of it. I would rather not have had to reinstall the front to replace the bad original mounts. My car only has 136,000 miles on it, so I would have expected more mileage out of these high cost factory items. Factory isn't what it used to be.
Old 04-19-18, 12:15 PM
LeX2K
Lexus Fanatic

Received 3,053 Likes on 2,565 Posts