2012 Navigation system question

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-17, 07:37 PM
Ct20o
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Navigation system question

Hello,
I'm new here. I'm new to owning a Lexus. The 2012 ct200 is my first Lexus and even though its 5 years old I really like it and now really understand the hype around Lexus (I always just assumed they were over priced Toyotas for people with too much money.I understand now that's not the situation.)
So, I bought a 2012 Ct200 a few months back it came with the navigation system and I like it. BUT I recently drove a 2016 Ct200 (got a courtesy car) and the navigation system was different. It had this home page that displayed my itunes music with album covers, the street I was on and the street speed limit, along with a compass and my current mpg. It also had reverse tracers for backing up. My 2012 Nav has none of these features. Is there any way I can get these 2016 features on my 2012 nav? The lady at the dealership said no I can only update the map. But that seems odd to me that it can't be updated because all it is is software and what software can't be updated? is she right? Is there a patch or anything like that anyone can point me in the direction? Thanks for the info.
Old 03-09-17, 07:11 AM
tofuprod
Instructor

Received 232 Likes on 183 Posts

Congratulations on your CT, and welcome.

I too, have a 2012 CT200h.

Correct, the 2013 and below CTs I believe have an older software, I noticed this too when I purchased mine as my friend has a 2014/15 and his setup is a tad different than mine.

To my knowledge there is no way for our earlier years to update to the new OS, unfortunately.

Also, with the backup camera, same thing, I don't believe the reverse trackers were introduced until the 2014 year, but I could be slightly off. It's not a big deal for myself as I usually use my side mirrors as it is and use the backup camera screen as I'm about to stop.