Automotive Care & Detailing Discussions on washing, waxing, polishing, detailing, cleaning and maintaining the beauty of your Lexus.

Wheel Cleaner impact of Caliper?

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-17, 11:09 AM
PJSnow
Pit Crew

Received 82 Likes on 40 Posts
Default Wheel Cleaner impact of Caliper?

Hi everyone. So I'm new to the ISF and have just washed it a few times now with the huge pain of cleaning the wheels. I have the 2011 wheel with so many intricacies. It's really a pain to get into everywhere with just a rag. I've never used a wheel cleaning foam but thought this is the right opportunity. I found 3 brands that seem to be pretty good according to reviews but they all seem to have problems with painted wheels. I haven't done anything to the wheels (no painted wheels) but my question is will the finish on the calipers be ruined if I use one of these products? Also, let me know if anyone has a preference or recommendation for a wheel cleaner. The 3 I found are:

1. Eagle One A2Z All Wheel & Tire Cleaner
2. Meguiars Hot Rims All Wheel & Tire Cleaner
3. Mothers Foaming Wheel & Tire Cleaner
Old 06-12-17, 11:43 AM
newgsman
Instructor

Received 95 Likes on 66 Posts

Not saying whether you should or shouldn't, but I have been using rim cleaners for quite a few years mostly on my DIY painted GS400 calipers. I have also used them on my OEM painted ISF calipers. So far I have not had any bad experiences. I use whatever happens to be on sale at the local parts store. Never really noticed a difference between the various brands. They all sort of clean off most of the brake dust but you still need to get in there with a soft brush if you really want to them cleaned proper.
Old 06-12-17, 11:55 AM
STLblueF
Pole Position

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts