Wheels, Tires & Brakes Forum Where else do you go for wheel, tire and brake information?

Different centerbore - smaller to larger, what bad happens?

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-09, 05:33 AM
DaveGS4
Forum Administrator
Administrator

Received 2,312 Likes on 1,410 Posts
Default Different centerbore - smaller to larger, what bad happens?

I'm looking into the possibility of using some Lexus wheels on a Mazda (long story, it's for a "Lemons" Mazda 626 race car) and my crack research team (google) tells me that the bolt pattern is the same 5 x 114.3, but the centerbore is different.

Lexus is typically 60.1
Mazda is typically 67.1

I've always read of using centering rings but assumed those were for fitting larger bores to smaller bore wheels... but I'm no expert in this area.

Can anybody tell me if I can make these work?
Old 02-23-09, 07:09 PM
white_is
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

you should be able to take it to a machine shop and have them enlarge it.

this guy had STI BBS rims machined to fit on an IS. the bore for the STI was like 56 so it was smaller to larger.

http://my.is/forums/f95/sti-bbs-is3-...e-pics-381487/
Old 02-23-09, 08:30 PM
Spyder78
Lexus Champion

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by DaveGS4
I'm looking into the possibility of using some Lexus wheels on a Mazda (long story, it's for a "Lemons" Mazda 626 race car) and my crack research team (google) tells me that the bolt pattern is the same 5 x 114.3, but the centerbore is different.

Lexus is typically 60.1
Mazda is typically 67.1

I've always read of using centering rings but assumed those were for fitting larger bores to smaller bore wheels... but I'm no expert in this area.

Can anybody tell me if I can make these work?