RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Extend CPO Warranty?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-15, 12:20 PM
Dadofruth
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extend CPO Warranty?

I expect to take delivery of a 2013 RX450H with 13,500 miles that's CPO from my local dealer. The CPO warranty is 3 years or 100K miles from the date I take delivery. I'm a low mileage driver so that part is irrelevant. They are offering me a 2 year extension, out to 5 years, for a discounted $1575. I really have no idea how long I'll keep the RX, but I generally don't last more than 3 years. If I were to trade the car in, I could get a prorated refund on the unused portion. I would not want my payment to increase, so I'd have to pay for the warranty upfront. Thoughts on extended the CPO warranty fromt he group would be greatly appreciated. I'll have to make a decision in the next few days.
They're also offering wheel and tire hazard coverage. It's pricey though. $715 3 years $1000 5. They claim that's it's through Lexus and tires would be replaced rather than patched. I'm thinking I'll take my chances there.
TIA
Old 04-20-15, 01:12 PM
kitlz
No, I don't play soccer!

Received 159 Likes on 134 Posts

Dadofruth, here is a thread discussing extended warranties. Just disregard comments about buying it from out of state dealers. Lexus doesn't allow that anymore. It's true you will get a prorated refund if you change your mind. But it sounds like you probably won't keep the RX long enough. CPO should be enough. Wheel and tire hazard might be good if you've had back luck in the past. Still it would take three replacement tires to break even on the three year coverage. I'd say the odds are in your favor. And skip everything else they offer.
Old 04-20-15, 01:14 PM
Dadofruth
Rookie

Originally Posted by kitlz