Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

transmission whine

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-03, 01:02 AM
muhula
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question transmission whine

hi, sc300 newbie here and I don't know if this is normal or not...

So I just bought a 93 with manual transmission, and when the clutch is engaged, a whine comes from the engine bay, and rises in pitch as the revs go up. It's more noticeable under load, but I can hear it almost all the time whether in gear or in neutral. Press the clutch pedal and the sound goes away. Car has 90k miles. Can anybody tell me if this is normal or if I have a problem?

Also an unrelated issue... the emergency brake indicator on my dash goes on sometimes even if the brake is disengaged (but always goes on when it is engaged). Is this a common problem? Can anyone tell me which harnesses I need to look at to test for continuity/voltage? I think it might be a grounding problem.

thanks in advance.
Old 12-07-03, 01:28 AM
Baby ///M3
Lexus Champion

Received 21 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Re: transmission whine

Regarding the transmission issue.

My transmission made the exact same sound before it went out on me a while ago.

Since you have a manual, I am not sure if your tranny is experiencing a similar problem or not.

Hopefully it's not.

Jon

Originally posted by muhula
hi, sc300 newbie here and I don't know if this is normal or not...

So I just bought a 93 with manual transmission, and when the clutch is engaged, a whine comes from the engine bay, and rises in pitch as the revs go up. It's more noticeable under load, but I can hear it almost all the time whether in gear or in neutral. Press the clutch pedal and the sound goes away. Car has 90k miles. Can anybody tell me if this is normal or if I have a problem?