LS - 3rd Gen (2001-2006) Discussion topics related to the flagship Lexus LS430

Right Rear Brakes Squelling

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-16, 06:01 AM
warminwisc
Lexus Champion

Received 31 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Right Rear Brakes Squelling

My buddies kid has some pretty good diesel trainging but works in a printing shop as he can make more money and does car work on the side. I have been real happy with 4-5 brake jobs he has done on my cars and real fair pricing. He put on new Centric rotors on the rear with lexus pads. No problem but in reverse the screeching would wake the dead and pee off my neighbors for sure. He has tried greasing slides back plates etc but I hope he figures this out. He does use the old bolts. Any ideas? Thanks
Old 10-15-16, 06:26 AM
Johnhav430
Lexus Fanatic

Received 372 Likes on 346 Posts

#1 culprit is reusing old discs, with new pads, but not the case here.

Again I'm a newbie with the LS, but have done more than 5 brake jobs on BMW and Nissan. My BMW was purchased new (335i), and around 20k, I started to get a squeak-squeak-squeak in the rears when pulling away from a stop, very annoying and made the car feel cheap. Others on the forum reported the only way to correct is new pads, regardless of if your pads have only 20k.

Took the car to the dealer, and they did a internal "courtesy" job. cleaned all 4 corners, reinstalled with brake pad paste. It didn't do a thing.

When I went to diy my brakes at 50k, I saw the evidence that they had applied the brake pad paste to all 8 pads. Wanting to know for sure, I reinstalled new OEM brake pads, WITHOUT replacing the rear rotors (BMW specifies to always do both). Sure enough, no squeak. This is probably explained by the fact that the pads are semi metallic. I would think the LS has ceramic pads.