Lexus Audio, Video, Security & Electronics
Sponsored by:

2002 navigation problem/ diagnostics.

Search this Thread

Old 12-17-12, 09:12 PM
mouse23
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 navigation problem/ diagnostics.

Like so many others on this forum My screen spontaneously started reading "cannot read disc" or something like that.
Here's what I did so far:

1: Other threats talked about the motors in the DVD nav box. So I took the cover of my nav box, plugged it back in, I could insert and remove the disk so that motor is working; with the cover off I could see the disk spinning, so that motor was good also.

2. I also read about the laser being bad, so I unplugged it again and cleaned the laser. If you don't know how, check youtube.

3 Disc could be bad: I the disk inserted in my computer and could see all the folders on the disk. So disk is OK too.

4 Then I started playing with the screen, touching it in the corners in various sequences, looking for a secret back door to a possible reset function. And this is what I found:

After pressing the hard "Display" button a screen appears to adjus brightness and contrast. But in the center of the screen is a smaller screen with part of the previous error message.
On that little screen touch the corner in this sequence: Top L- Bot L-Top L-Bot L- Top L- Bot L.
And a diagnostic menu will appear.
For some reason this is the second page of another menu, so by touching "Menu" on this menu it will go back to the first menu and I will list all the choices ;

Diagnostic Menu:
System Check Menu
Display Check (Menu)
Navigation Check

[/COLOR]
From the "System Check" Menu:
LAN MON:
CODE CLEAR
MEM CLEAR
RECHECK
MENU
(to go back)
On the top part of this screen one will see the check results after about 30 sec.
MEM CLEAR did not respond (luckily); CODE CLEAR did not respond.

From the DISPLAY CHECK MENU:
Color check
Touch sw check
Touch point check
Veh Sig check.