Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

Electric Steering???

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-12, 08:54 PM
blubyu88
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Steering???

Hey guys, as before I stated I am new to the Lexus world, anyway when driving my 400h I noticed at lower speeds or cruising speeds if I move the steering wheel slightly to the left or right, I noticed it will push back real quick like almost snatching and then after you grab the wheel to keep the car stabilize and straight, it stops and only does it when you move the wheel when cruising it does it pretty abrupt if you turn it slightly? Any suggestions? Kind of reminds me of a old Honda CR-V with being front wheel drive and having torque steer, when you would give it gas.
Old 08-09-12, 10:56 PM
maseace
Pole Position

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

I'm not sure what you are asking, or what the problem is. Can you rephrase the question?

It does have fully electric power steering as opposed to hydraulic power steering. All systems that would be vacuum or hydraulics operated on a normal car, are fully electric on a hybrid like the RX400h. The air conditioning, brakes, and steering all have to work without the engine running, in electric-only mode.

One more thing that may explain your steering issue is the VSC, vehicle stability control, that engages the brakes individually when swerving at highway speeds, to keep the vehicle in a straight line and prevent it from spinning out of control, especially in bad weather conditions.
Old 08-10-12, 01:18 PM
rcy
Lead Lap

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts