RX - 3rd Gen (2010-2015) Discussion topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX350 and RX450H models

Can you return a Pre-owned Lexus to the Lexus dealer?

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-17, 04:23 PM
omarkhan78
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Can you return a Pre-owned Lexus to the Lexus dealer?

Hi,
I am a new driver and I bought a Lexus RX350 2012 from a Lexus dealer.Within a month, Rust bubbles popped up in the car, before the car was sold to me someone applied touch up paint to the rust spots and they are popping up now. There is rattling noise from the car when it goes over Bumps.

I purchased the vehicle on finance through a Canadian Lexus dealer. Is there any way I could return the vehicle back? What options do I have? I took Lexus for peace of mind turns out it's giving me a headache.

Thanks for your help.
Old 04-27-17, 05:26 PM
SteveCraig
Lead Lap

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

No harm in approaching the dealer with the question.
Bottom line they will want to keep their money but may be willing to talk to you about something else on the lot.
Be reasonable & they might be too. Perhaps you can negotiate a discount on a proper paint repair job ?
Most of what you have today is the result of a previous owner.
Where are the bubbles......hood area ? Exposed to rocks from the road ?

Rattle from the car could be almost anything. Rear seat frames are noted to rattle as does the rear cargo cover.
Ask the dealer to road test it with you present, possible get it up on a hoist & identify it. Go from there.
The servicing dealer job #1 is to make money and keep people coming back while doing it.

Last edited by SteveCraig; 04-27-17 at 05:31 PM.
Old 04-27-17, 06:41 PM
omarkhan78
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by SteveCraig
No harm in approaching the dealer with the question.
Bottom line they will want to keep their money but may be willing to talk to you about something else on the lot.