SC430 - 2nd Gen (2001-2010)

Replacing door speakers in SC430

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-14, 10:15 AM
mcgene
Pit Crew

Received 22 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Replacing door speakers in SC430

I've read a number of posts here via Google searches and decided to join the Club.

I just purchased a 2002 SC430 with less then 20K miles on it. While it looks brand new -- as you would expect the woofer door speakers are nasty.

I have limited knowledge about ohms and amps, etc. But, after reading a number of posts here and else where -- it seems staying with 8 ohm replacement speakers is the right thing to do.

Now, just finding the darn things is the problem. I'm not sure I want to simply replace the ML speakers with more ML speakers -- nor do I want the hassle of repairing the ones in the door.

I've found some speakers at the two links below, and if anyone has the time to comment, I'd surely appreciate it.

BTW, I called a local audio car shop who claims they have replaced a ton of these front door speakers in the SC430. I asked what they were installing -- Infinity speakers that are 2 ohm!!!! Good grief -- I think I'll keep my distance.

Thanks for reading this far -- and responding if you choose.

http://www.turnswitch.com/speakers.htm
http://www.audiosavings.com/products...KER/XM698.aspx
Old 06-23-14, 11:49 AM
bacardi11
Lexus Test Driver

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

I use the DC Gold 6X9 front speakers. to me they are the best speakers and 3 year replacement free. Great Sounding Speakers. 8 ohm like our cars and after 3 year they will rebuild them to new cheap also they are waterproof.

Last edited by bacardi11; 06-23-14 at 12:04 PM.
Old 06-23-14, 11:53 AM
NAmVet68
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

eBay usually has some NOS ML speakers available, and has a few door speakers on right now for about $175-190/each. Just do a search on "SC430 speaker" and they will pop right up.