RX - 1st Gen (1999-2003) Discussion topics related to the 1999 -2003 RX300 models

Rough noise/vibration upon acceleration only

Old 12-23-17, 06:19 PM
T4rguy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rough noise/vibration upon acceleration only

Hello all. I am new to lexus and this forum. Have been lurking on the forum for several months, reading about common problems, especially tranny issues as mine had 178600 miles when I got it. I come for a 1998 Toyota 4Runner which I absolutely loved, and sold at 250k miles with no real problems. I wanted something more comfortable for long trips, so I picked up a 2001 Lexus rx300 at an auction with front end body and suspension damage from an accident. I got it in August 2017 and put about $2k into it, doing all the repairs myself to get it in good running condition. All in $4500 is not bad as the vehicle is everything I wanted. Comfortable, reasonably quiet, good on the highway, all wheel drive, and enough room to haul my mountain bike, skiis, kayak, etc... It’s been excellent, up until today.

As I was driving back home from cross country skiing in the local mountains, I got about half way and started hearing and slightly feeling a rough noise from the front end. I couldnt tell where it was coming from. Could be anywhere in the front end. But it started when I was about 15 miles from home, and continued to get gradually worse. I was sure I was going to break down, but it made it back.