RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

Noob here with a question about "shift lag" when in standard mode

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-18, 06:10 PM
srider1
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here with a question about "shift lag" when in standard mode

I just purchased a 2015 RC F a couple weeks ago and have had a blast driving this car so far. As I've told several of my buddies, I'm a car guy who's been trapped in a 4 cyl vtech for 8 yrs! I have a lot to learn about this car and I'm slowly getting there thanks to this forum. One thing I haven't been able to find anything about though is what I can only describe as a lag when in standard mode shifting between 3rd and 4th gears.

Here's the scenario.....standard mode, slowing down to make a turn and trans shifts down to 3rd. Make the turn then into the throttle and the car almost feels like it loses power completely, then catches and shifts into 4th and up through the gear box. No other issues with shifting or idling or anything. Just wondering if this is just a trait of this transmission or if there's something else going on.

I apologize if this has been discussed in other threads but I searched for keywords and didn't find anything. Any help is appreciated!
Old 10-22-18, 06:21 PM
Lammyyy
Pole Position

Received 74 Likes on 62 Posts

It's been pretty heavily documented on here. There's a small throttle lag where it's like the car is thinking whether or not it wants to go in 3rd gear.

I did read somewhere that an ECU reset from the dealership helps it. Other people just get the Apexi throttle controller but I personally just drive it on Sport or Sport+ since I can never get over 18-20 mpg even when I'm trying
Old 10-22-18, 06:27 PM
srider1
Driver School Candidate