RC F (2015-present) Discussion topics related to the RC F model

Need a bit of post-purchase advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-18, 04:17 PM
DrewDrop
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need a bit of post-purchase advice

Bought a Lexus Certified 2015 RC F this weekend that had 14k miles on it. Had Alloy wheels, leather seats, Navigation/Mark Levinson Package, Premium Package and Moonroof. CPO means another 2 years of warranty (making it out to 2021), and the next 4 scheduled service free.

Paid 49k plus tax. As a newbie, I am looking for the Lexus experts to tell me if I paid too much?

Dealer is offering 5 year extended warranty for 3k. Also offering next 2 years scheduled services free, if I paid 1400 down right now. Are these worth it?

Please advice.
Old 01-15-18, 04:45 PM
mjeds
Lexus Champion

Received 188 Likes on 145 Posts

2 years of maintenance is basically 4 oil changes, and perhaps 2 cabin filter replacements. so at most $600 out of pocket if you take it to the dealer for these items, if you do yourself or locally, about half that.

I paid $1,895 for my 7yr 90K warranty extension when I purchased new in 2015, so from my POV, no, not worth it.

as for paying too much, you paid about average, I've seen a few 2015s with 25k -35K miles for $44k/$45k recently in California, so while maybe not a great deal, not really a bad deal..
The following users liked this post:
DrewDrop (01-15-18)
Old 01-15-18, 06:25 PM
lobuxracer
Tech Info Resource

Received 3,849 Likes on 2,334 Posts

Just curious - if someone said you paid too much, would it change how you feel about the car or just the purchase?

I have difficulty understanding the need for external validation once I've decided to spend my money. There are lots of threads here arguing this in the IS, RC, and GS F forums, but it baffles me why would you care after you've cut the check and got the car.
The following 2 users liked this post by lobuxracer: