Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

Help with a/c unit intermitent blinking lite

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-16, 07:42 PM
johnmikeyo
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking Help with a/c unit intermitent blinking lite

Hi,
I am new to the cl forum and recently purchased a 1999 sc400 with aprx. 118000 miles on it. When driving about every ten minutes the a/c lite will blink. I then turn it off and aprx. ten more minutes goes by and starts blinking again. this will go on all day. A/c seems to work fine as well as all the other climate control parts. However when I do run the a/c and radio at the same time this will drain my battery. Alternator was replaced 4 years ago and the battery will hold a charge once I put it on a trycle charge. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. I did the a/c diagnostic code and read a 21 but that was a past issue. No beep when 21 came up.

P.S. I've heard the renaissance red sc have always been the fastest, in stock mode of course
Old 02-24-16, 12:16 AM
O. L. T.
Keeper of the light

Received 335 Likes on 221 Posts

compressor code
Old 02-24-16, 05:48 PM
Zerodrag
Pole Position

Received 28 Likes on 25 Posts

Mine did that when the alternator was on the way out. (it died shortly after). I think there's another thread somewhere on the forum regarding that also.
Old 02-24-16, 08:27 PM
KahnBB6

Received 1,221 Likes on 856 Posts

This can also be due to a low freon condition due to a leak. The system is designed to lock out the compressor from use to protect it and the rest of the system if this happens.

I believe there is a diagnostic procedure through the HVAC unit itself which will tell you trouble codes. That procedure should be in the SC300/400 FSM.
Old 02-25-16, 06:37 PM
johnmikeyo
Driver School Candidate