Performance & Maintenance Engine, forced induction, intakes, exhausts, torque converters, transmissions, etc.

looking to swap but need allot of help

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-08, 05:40 PM
dawizone
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default looking to swap but need allot of help

I am complete newb when it comes to engine swaps. I have a 92 sc300, 5spd and i just clipped 200k. I told myself six years ago when it got that high in milage that it was going to become a project car. Well the time has come and after doing some research I havent found any threads that will break down everything needed to swap in a turbo engine. I wont be doing any of the work but i would like to have some knowledge on the procedures when I present to mechanics. Can anyone send me some links that completely breaks down the processand everything needed... Thanx in advance for the help
Old 06-01-08, 08:35 PM
shonuff53
Lead Lap

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts

like you said everything will not be in one thread its a lot to list and explain, you will have to search and remember that every different turbo engine depending off what car it came from will need to be modified differently to work with an sc. if your going to have it done by a mechanic you might as well search for a shop experienced in this field because the work will be better and take them less time to do which can also save you money.
Old 06-02-08, 07:25 AM
dawizone
Rookie

Default after doing more research

I see there are complete bolt on turbo kits. There averaging around $5k. Is this the best rout? Are there cheaper methods. I see allot of people have done swaps but no one is listing to total cost to complete projects. If a turbo kit is the best option which one is best?
Old 06-02-08, 01:30 PM
DasBach
Lexus Test Driver

Well without searching I can help influence your choice about which way to go.